Today was a busy day.  I slept in a little bit (9:30 am) and had breakfast.  I had the Medifast Cinnamon and Brown Sugar cereal with Silk Unsweetened Vanilla Flavored Almond Milk which was quite yummy!  I love having cereal in the morning, it makes me feel like I’m eating like everyone else.  I spent the morning doing some educational research.  I graduated with a BA last spring and I still want to further my education, so I did a little browsing and made a few plans to help me get to where I want to be.  I’ve become very fickle lately over what I want to end up doing with my life–I guess because I just haven’t found the right thing yet.  I’m taking my time and looking around.  While I look, I’m going to prepare myself to be a better applicant when I finally get the chance to apply.

Around 11 I made whole wheat pierogies for my husband and brother and I ate a smores Medifast bar.  After lunch, I went to the grocery store and got in a little NEAT.  It wasn’t our weekly trip, so I didn’t get a lot in, but it was some (and I parked really far away)!  While I was there I decided to pick up a few things to help me take care of myself a little better, and to make me feel better about myself.  Among other things, I bought some hair dye.  I dyed my hair a couple years ago and really enjoyed the change so I decided to do it again.  I thought it was fitting too, since I am changing so much lately.  I bought a more subtle color than I did the last time (for those of you who remember), but I think the next time I do it, I will buy the one I used before.  The dye I bought this time just doesn’t seem like as much of a change (though I do like it).

After I got home I started prepping for our lean & green…well the lean portion anyway.  I knew it was going to take some time so I started it early.  I have really missed breaded chicken and have seen multiple websites with ways to use different Medifast products as breading.  I crushed up a bag of the new parmesan cheese puffs, added some extra parmesan/romano/asiago grated cheese blend and Ortega reduced sodium taco seasoning, and used that as my breading.  In another recipe that I LOVE but can’t have until I’m back in maintenance, melted butter is used to make the breading stick to chicken.  I rolled my chicken in light margarine instead and then rolled it in my breading mixture.  After I placed it into a glass baking dish, I put it in the over for 50 minutes at 350 degrees.  It isn’t my favorite recipe, but it was definitely good.  It was nice to have some texture on my chicken too.  The recipe card for this will be posted on my recipe page as soon as I finish it.  If you aren’t on the Medifast program, I’m sure you could substitute your favorite cheese puff instead–just be sure it isn’t loaded with fat or carbs (the Medifast puffs have 3 grams of fat and 14 grams of carbs, (plus lots of nutrients that you would never find in standard cheese puffs) so you could use that as a comparison).  We decided to make our green portion later in the day, since I felt like I had not done anything for myself yet at that point.

I got to play a little bit of N64 today.  I did not get any EAT in, but tomorrow I am going for another bike ride and heading over to the park to shoot some hoops (we have some leftovers from tonight so hopefully I won’t have to cook tomorrow).

Our green tonight were a variety of veggies.  We didn’t have enough of one type for anyone so we made few different kinds.  I roasted cauliflower with oil, salt, pepper, and just a touch a parmesan cheese, sautéd green beans with light margarine, garlic, salt and pepper, and heated up some peas for my husband with light margarine, salt, and pepper.  I love cauliflower, so that is mostly what I had, but I also had the green beans which were quite good–thanks to my sister-in-law for that recipe!

Something else that made my day was a short conversation with a friend.  I don’t get to talk to her much anymore, but its always nice when we get to catch up.  Little things like that brighten my day :-).  I need to start checking in on my friends more often, as I’m sure it would brighten their days too.

