I’m checking in late tonight since I worked the later shift today.

I had a great day!  I started my day by having a heart to heart with my husband about where I am, where I want to go, and how we can go about getting me there.  Always great to get those feelings off of my chest and know that I am loved and supported.  Communicating like that really makes me feel good about myself, which is always a great way to start the day!

After our heart to heart, we went out for a nice walk to get ourselves going and get some much needed activity (I’m sure you have noticed, I haven’t mentioned much activity this week).  It was difficult at first, I had some intense itching around my ankles, but I knew I really needed to get this activity in.  When I needed to, I took short breaks and I kept drinking my water.  I pushed on and made it through–I don’t always feel like I can, but today I could which also made my day better.

As expected, I got my food last night and it was easy to get in all of my Medifast meals and get them in on time today.  I was really happy at dinner when I was able to have a cookie; I haven’t had one of the cookies in probably 2 weeks (give or take a few days)!  I also got in all of my water for the day (at least my current goal of 80 ounces/day).

Before I went to work, I had my lean and green.  Today, I made omelets for everyone.  I used egg beaters, feta cheese (low fat, low carb, high awesome), scallions, and broccoli.  I love omelets because they cook quickly, leave little mess, taste great, and I can make them when I forget to thaw meat (as was the case today–I have been bad at that lately).  I cooked my veggies with light margarine, salt, and pepper.  And my cooking level increased today because they actually looked like omelets! When we were in Philly I carefully watched the person preparing our breakfast at the hotel and copied his technique of pulling the edges up and letting the uncooked egg get underneath so it can cook (which is probably standard I just didn’t realize that is how it is done because I always cooked them on a flat top when I worked in college).  Last time I cooked omelets I ended up making scrambled eggs because I couldn’t figure out how to make it work.  Hopefully next time I make them they will look even better!

I got some extra NEAT in today at work.  I ran the zamboni at work.  That is about 40 minutes of non-stop pushing a heavy piece of equipment around a large area.  I’m glad I ended up doing that since, as I mentioned earlier, I did not get in much activity this week.

Today was a significant day for me.  I had one of those moments today…one of those moments when you realize just how much your life has changed and how far you have come.  I am one of those people who no matter how much they tell you to only weigh yourself once per week while trying to lose weight I can’t help but get on daily (no worries my husband watches me carefully!).  I hopped on this morning fully dressed and weighed 218 and cried.  I was so emotional because the last time I saw a number like that was probably 4 years ago and here I am 218–down 27 pounds in 8 1/2 weeks.  Reaching a new set of 10 always makes me feel good, but crossing this threshold was special because it made me think about everything I’ve done to get here.  Sometimes I still can’t believe that I am doing this–me, not that person on TV, not the person down the street, not a family member, me.  I am actually doing it, it can be done.  I know I have a long way to go, but time just keeps flying by–I’m lighter and healthier everyday.  Seeing that number today was empowering and uplifting; it was truly a success.

