Today was a busy day for me.  I started the day by meeting my future sister-in-law for lunch.  We went to Applebee’s (I know I just went there, but I know what I can have there and I find their food quite tasty).  I ordered plain grilled chicken, a side salad, and a side of broccoli.  I did really well, but I couldn’t finish my salad.  I decided that since I wasn’t hungry anymore it was best to leave it and have some more veggies later.

After that we met up with the other bridesmaids in her wedding and tried on a few different gowns.  I was really surprised, I could actually get into every dress I tried.  They didn’t fit, but I could get them on which made me feel really good.  I was worried that I wouldn’t even be able to get them over my hips or bust, but I did.  They were sizes 12 & 14.  The 14’s even fit my hips and waist, they just didn’t zip!!!!  A few more pounds and I should fit in nicely (I used to wear at least an 18, many times a 20).  I’m glad that I could get them on, even if they didn’t completely fit; it would have been very discouraging for me otherwise (even though 14 and 12 are still quite small for someone my weight).

When we finished up, I headed to my parents house to spend a little time with them and pick up the top tier of my wedding cake for my anniversary on Monday.  We decided to all go out for putt putt golf to spend some time together while still getting a little activity.  I actually didn’t come in last–which has nothing to do with my journey, but made me feel good none-the-less!

The next thing on the agenda was dinner.  We all went over to Eat n’ Park–as I mentioned before, its cheap & you can eat healthy there without anyone questioning you (plus they are very open about their nutritional information).  On the way over, I seriously considered having a garden burger or piece of chicken with a slice of cheese.  I kept telling myself, “I had all my protein today, but I’d really like to taste the meat & cheese…maybe if i just eat 1/2…”  I eventually decided that I only was considering it because I wanted to taste it.  I already ate my protein for the day so i made the decision to have a side of broccoli and nothing more.  This was a major success for me.  I had a feeling, stopped and thought about the feeling and what I wanted for myself, and actually made the choice not to overeat. I think many times, we all stop thinking and just go with whatever our first impulse is when it comes to food.  Its important to slow down and think about it though, otherwise we might make a decision that ultimately isn’t good for our health.

Later, I got to spend some time with more of my family at my cousin’s baseball game.  Its always nice to see everyone and spend some time with them–even if its not for long.

When I got home my husband and I decided to go ahead and have our wedding cake for 2 reasons: 1 We weren’t sure if the cake would last until Monday (since it has been frozen for a year) and 2 We had the house to ourselves so it was nice to have that quiet time to spend together and focus on what the cake represented.  We each had a little bit and reflected on our first year together and future rather than focusing on the cake.

The first day of getting 80 ounces of water in went well, the first day of getting back on a normal sleep schedule…not so much.  I ended up playing a game on my cell phone longer than anticipated last night so when 7am rolled around, I was still quite sleepy.  I set an alarm for 8am when I couldn’t get up at 7, but I never heard it.  I didn’t end up getting out of bed until 9:30 this morning!  I really wanted to be able to take my time getting ready today and spend a little time with my husband since I wasn’t going to see him much.  Tomorrow is a new day though!  I hope to get to bed on time tonight so that I can wake up refreshed and ready to start my day tomorrow morning (even if I still can’t get myself up at 7, I at least want to keep working on it!)

