Today was a fantastic day!

To begin, this morning I had my weight in:

Weight: 224lbs

BMI: 38.4

Waist: 40″

Hips: 49″

To date, I have lost 21.2lbs (3.2lbs this week)! What a great feeling to have lost more than 20lbs!!!

In addition to a good weigh-in, I had a lot of fun today, without losing sight of my primary choice of being healthy. The day started off by meeting a good friend that I haven’t seen in nearly a year for lunch at Applebee’s. I ordered a piece of grilled chicken (cut in 1/2 so I could split it with my husband) and a side salad with light italian dressing, both of which tasted great. I am always a bit disappointed in salad dressings, as they always seem to be loaded with carbs, but I only had 1/2 of what they gave me, so I should be okay.

After spending some time over lunch with my friend, we continued on to Philly and checked in to our hotel. We did not have a ton of time, so we decided to walk around near our hotel and try to find some dinner. We walked around for a while and quite a few blocks and couldn’t find anything that wasn’t a chain or something that looked expensive (not many of those either though!). We ended up going to the restaurant beside our hotel (TGI Fridays), because we ran out of time to keep looking. It was great to get to see a bit of the city and get some exercise in, even though we ended up where we started. For dinner, my husband and I split a meal. We ordered the sizzling chicken and shrimp, which comes with mashed potatoes as a side. We each took a piece of chicken and three shrimp. I gave him the mashed potatoes and ordered myself a side of broccoli. The only failure with dinner was that the dish came with on of my weaknesses…tons of melted cheese! I’m certain that I ate more cheese than I should have. It just made my broccoli taste so good! I need to remember that I should eat my broccoli because its good for me, not because its smothered in cheese and makes me feel good. I’m glad that I didn’t give in to the mashed potatoes though–those of you who know me probably also know that mashed potatoes are among my favorite foods.

As it turns out, Pat’s Steakhouse is not within walking distance from our hotel and is also no where near the Mann Center (the location of the concert). The goal is to go tomorrow for lunch on the way out of town. I will be having my lean and green for breakfast and eating my Medifast meals the rest of the day. I also have extra almonds packed in case I need something else to keep my mouth busy while I smell the greasy cheesy sandwiches tomorrow. Right now I feel as though I will do fine with the challenge; however, if I am feeling weak tomorrow, I am going to have 1/2 a lean & green in the morning so that I can try to find something else close by to eat while my brother and friend eat cheesesteaks.

I have been pretty happy that everyone has been trying to eat healthy on this trip. My brother is going to have a cheesesteak tomorrow, but he has told me that he is only eating 1/2 for lunch and saving the other 1/2 for dinner. If your going to go ahead and give in to the cheesesteak, that’s the way to do it!

After dinner, we headed over to the Legend of Zelda: Symphony of the Goddesses which was an amazing experience. If you haven’t heard the 25th Anniversary album and you are a Zelda fan or like orchestra music, it truly is a beautiful album and I recommend you find a copy to listen to. We were lucky enough to hear pieces from it as well as additional pieces not included on the album. We even got to see the person who arranged the symphony tonight! They played all of my favorite LoZ songs along with great footage of game play. It really took me back and made me feel good about the experiences I had playing those games growing up (thanks for providing those experiences Mom & Dad!). The LoZ Symphony is another experience I highly recommend–it is still touring throughout the country for a large part of 2012.

The one thing I am being lax about it my sleep schedule–I figured 2 late nights won’t kill me 🙂

20120726-150757.jpg

