Somehow my day is always easier when I know I have a day off the following day.  Work flew by today and I didn’t have any mishaps.

 

Tonight I made taco salads for dinner, so the meat was quite tempting to pick at.  I did a great job though.  I felt tempted to pick at the taco meat after dinner, so I asked my husband if he would clean up so I could avoid overeating.  In exchange, I offered to do the dishes.  Its nice to have someone who understands what I am going through and will help me with whatever I need.

 

Tomorrow I am determined to get up on time.  I am going to get up at 7am no matter what I feel like when my alarm goes off.  Once I go out to the living room and eat my first Medifast meal, I am going to wait 30 minutes.  If after that amount of time I am still exhausted, then I will go back to bed.  I know there are some other habits I need to incorporate into nightly routine before I will wake up feeling 100% refreshed, so until then, I might need a few more z’s.

 

Because I cook every day, I always have to be planning the next day’s meal when I’m done preparing dinner.  During my first week  I had some trouble forgetting to thaw my meat in time.  Planning tomorrow’s dinner today helps me make sure I have something to cook.  As a special treat this week, we purchased some lamb.  I have never made lamb before, but have had it on a few occasions and think it tastes delicious.  A lot of the recipes I found when browsing Google tonight included lemon (yuck!) and mint (not on my meat thank you!); I decided to just come up with my own sauce.  We all tasted the sauce tonight and it tastes great by itself.  I will be posting it tomorrow in my post regardless of how it turns out; if it turns out well, it will go on my recipe page.  I never considered myself a good cook–in order to be healthy, it’s something I need to learn to do.  Since this is a journal of successes and failures, I will include it even if we don’t end up liking it on our lamb.  At very least, experimenting in the kitchen usually turns out to be fun (so long as I’m not trying to cook for a party or guests).

 

Do you experiment in the kitchen?  What was the best experiment?  How about the worst?

