A 7am wake-up time did not happen this morning.  Just before 6am, I woke up naturally.  I still felt tired so I went back to sleep.  At 7am, my alarm went off and I just couldn’t get myself out of bed.  I went to bed slightly late last night (only about 20 minutes), but I doubt that is why I was so tired this morning.  I will continue working on the habit though, because I want to wake up refreshed every day.  At very least, I need to keep making sure that I have a consistent bed time and the my TV does not interfere with it.

Because I woke up late (about 10am oops!) I had to double up on one of my Medifast meals to fit them all in.  I normally eat 5 Medifast meals per day and 1 Lean & Green meal per day and eat them 2-3 hours a part.  Today I still ate all my meals (if I don’t I won’t get all of my nutrition for the day), but I ate 2 Medifast bars at my last meal time.  I could have eaten one more meal at 10pm, but since I want to be in bed relaxing by 10 and trying to fall asleep by 10:30, eating at 10 would not have been a good choice.

Today I read Chapter 14 in Dr. A’s Habits of Health and the Take Shape for Life (TSFL) Exercise Guide.  I learned a lot about NEAT–Non-Exercise Activity Thermogenesis–and put it to use a bit today.  Today my husband, brother, and I all cleaned our kitchen and living room as well as went grocery shopping.  These activities seem too simple to help me get healthy, but they actually help me burn more calories throughout the day when I do them.  Sunday I hope to get in a little EAT–Exercise Activity Thermogenesis–by starting to follow the 12 week walking program found in the TSFL Exercise Guide.  I made the excuse today that it was rainy and cold so I could start Sunday.  I had been previously trying to walk 30 minutes a day 3 days a week, but I think the 12 week program will help me ease my way into EAT without getting discouraged and help me to know when to bump up my time and frequency.  In week 1, I will walk 3 days for 20 minutes (5 minute warm up-10 minute brisk walking-5 minute cool down).  I had never thought about doing a warm up and cool down for only 1o minutes of exercise, but I don’t want to hurt myself, so a warm up and cool down is a good secondary choice!

Today I decided that tuna melts are awesome!  I can have 7oz of tuna as a lean and get 2 healthy fats to go with it.  I used 7oz of tuna with 2 tablespoons of light mayo, mixed everything together, put a slice of reduced fat pepper jack cheese on it (I can have an extra 2oz of lean protein per day), skipped the bread, and baked it for 5 minutes.  It tastes delicious and took me less than 10 minutes to make!  Its nice to be able to have something that you can cook quickly and is still a healthy choice!

I felt really good today about my progress.  I was able to fit into an old jean skirt I have and had some extra room in my shirt and sweatshirt (two days ago I couldn’t sleep because of the heat and today I need a sweatshirt even inside–what is up with that?!)!!  I can’t remember a time when I had this much room in my clothes 🙂  Now I can’t wait for the day when I have to buy new clothes because the ones I have won’t stay on!

