I had another fantastic day today.  I got up early, spent some time with my husband, got in all of my Medifast meals on time, drank more than my daily water goal and even got a bit of NEAT and EAT today.

Today we decided that we couldn’t put off grocery shopping any longer, so we made a list and went shopping.  I always like making a list before we go because I know what we actually need and want before we even leave the house.  When I have a list, I don’t have to spend forever at the store because I am just walking through the aisles picking up whatever looks good.  Instead I have made that plan ahead of time and am choosing the right foods and just enough of them.  I also move with purpose, I move around faster at the store because I’m just trying to get what I need and get out.  We have been really consistent with our grocery bill when we do this too, it has been the same +-$5.00 the last few times we have gone.  It really helps ease our anxiety when we go because we know what to expect money wise and that we will have enough to take care of ourselves for the week.

Since we went shopping (and lets face it–neither of us felt like cooking today), we stopped by Sheetz to pick up salads on the way home.  Today I got a steak salad with romaine lettuce, eggs, feta, green peppers, mild pepper rings, and bacon bits.  When I got home I added some fat free low carb Santa Fe dressing.  I normally love my Hidden Valley Light Butttermilk Ranch, but since I had steak on my salad, I didn’t want to add any extra fat–the steak had all I needed!

Something I have noticed about myself lately is that I have been eating a lot of salads–not because I have to, but because I want to.  It’s really nice to know that I am actually starting to enjoy and even prefer foods that are good for me.  That’s not to say a salad can’t be unhealthy, because many of them are.  I haven’t been eating salads like that though and I’m still enjoying them!  I think I have been liking them so much because it is such an easy way to get in a lot of veggies without a ton of cooking (if made at home) and you get to mix all the flavors together.

I was also happy with myself today because I actually wanted to go for a bike ride.  I didn’t go far or for very long but it was enough to make me sweat and feel like I got a good workout in.  I really enjoyed myself while I was out; I enjoyed being out of the house and doing something with my body.  I hope that I can continue to get better at it so that I can last longer and travel some more scenic routes than around the neighboring blocks.

The exercise portion of my program is something that I really need to begin focusing on.  I feel like I am good at making the right food choices; I just need to make sure that I am fully committing myself to health and getting in some movement.  I have found a couple things that I can do that are fun for me, so I should be able to start getting activity in on more days throughout the week.

What kinds of activities are fun for you and get you motivated to move your body?

 

The following link is a great post about curbing sugar cravings:

http://www.elephantjournal.com/2012/07/nine-ways-to-curb-sugar-cravings-without-quitting-sugar/

